Reporting on President Trump’s executive order on immigration and refugees

To say this last week has been busy would be an understatement. I feel like I’ve hardly spoken to my dad and have been finishing my homework for my other classes at the last minute, all because I’ve been so busy at the Columbia Missourian. It seems as if once I (finally) got my first story out this past Thursday, I never stopped. My roommate says I’ve spent more time at the newsroom than anywhere else. But given what I’ve had the chance to cover, it’s definitely been worth it.

On Saturday I had my first general assignment shift, where we spend all day in the newsroom and cover any breaking news that comes in. My editor that day and I talked about the idea of writing a story from the perspective of locals about their reaction to President Donald Trump’s executive order banning refugees and immigrants of seven predominantly Muslim countries from entering the U.S. At the end of my general assignment shift, I decided to go to the local Islamic Center and see if I could find anyone who would be willing to speak to me on the issue.

I was very fortunate in reporting the first story, which came out the day of the protests in Columbia against the travel ban and discussed people’s reactions. I worked on that story with two other reporters at the newspaper. The second story focused on the reactions of the MU community to the executive orders. This was really an amazing topic to have the opportunity to report and write about. I talked to some people with very valid concerns and it was interesting to hear their perspectives.

Leave a Reply

